Skip to content

Google Stalk

February 5, 2009

Guess where I live?!

Or would it have some awful Web 2.0 like name like Staalk? This is of course not the name of Googles latest expansion; I am in fact referring to Google Latitude. Latitude is a new feature of Google Maps for mobile, as well as an iGoogle gadget, that allows you to share your location with your friends and to see their approximate locations, if they choose to share them with you (privacy issues overcome?!).

Since the announcement made yesterday by Google, it has attracted quite a lot of attention. The concept of social proximity has long been a dream for the avid socialite, however it seems as though Google has made it a reality. As reported on Mobile Marketer, it was launched due to excessive consumer demand after Google made its Maps service location-enabled to improve the mobile local search experience. Since then consumers have been eager to see which part of the world their ‘friends’ are in.

Or the crazy bunny boiler ex wants to you down to steal some of your hair?!

I have not had a chance to play with Latitude yet, so do not want to judge the book, however it seems as though privacy regulation is being pushed to its very limit. Can we be guaranteed this service is secure? I hate to think we live in a world where I can’t tell my friends where I am because there are mental cases out and about, but let us be honest, this Utopian ideal of our lives is nothing but pipe dreams. 

I love this sort of technology, I really do, but I cant help but be pessimistic because we live in a world where this technology will be exploited. Let’s hope I am proven wrong!

Until then, this is just another building block in Planet Google…

 

**UPDATE**

Minutes after writing this I have stumbled across this article on Brand Republic also…

Go to article

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

