Skip to content

Slow and Steady…

October 29, 2008

So the big career race has begun. I am now 3 days into my first media job with Redweb, and so far so good! Its all been very induction based, lots of meet and greets, but still getting involved with work as and when I can. Going to be sitting in on a Client requirements meeting later, followed by a conference call with said client also, which is all very exciting also!

Its funny because I had been applying for jobs with the intention of working so hard that I make ym way to the top as quickly as possible…thats just my personality. However it was only when I was watching Last Man Standing last night (http://www.bbc.co.uk/lastmanstanding/) that I was reminded how, in essence, there is no rush.

In their endurance race to the top of a Nepalese Mountain, Murray, one of the British contenders, decided to race off at the start in the hope that once he was ahead he couldn’t be caught. However, with a little over a quarter of the race to go, he hit a wall and ended up finishing 3rd. Its a case of the Hare and the Tortoise obviously, however I hear you cry, ‘what does that have to do with you?!’

Sneaky, sneaky...

Sneaky, sneaky...

For me, if I am not careful, I could exhaust myself and my resources by pushing myself too hard in the early years. For now I will be much better off to work hard but enjoy the ride. As I learn my trade I will eventually understand the ways in which I can not only better myself, but look for ways in which to progress from a controlled perspective, rather than rushing into the latest new job opening, which could turn out to be the wrong job for me.

Its a marathon, not a sprint, so I am just going to enjoy my new job, surrounded my great people and sooner or later, I’ll truly understand whats required of me…

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 8:46 am

    Hey, nice blog big man!

    Quite funny reading your progress getting a new job after graduating. Reminds me of the old days.

    Looks like you’ve landed on your feet. Just keep running with it

Leave a Reply

