Skip to content

Countdown

October 22, 2008

10, 9, 8, 7….You know the drill. Its not long till I begin my first Media job. And I could not be more excited! To add to the fact I am starting work in an agency that has a sublime client list and sterling calibre, I have managed to find the perfect new flat that is just 1 minute 52 seconds walk from the office! I can see my employers now reading this and realising I have no excuse to be late for work….dammit!

Monday will indicate the beginning of a new life for me; Nine to Five, Taxes and repaying the bloody student loan. I have always felt that I am prepared for this first significant step, however as it rears its head over the horizon, the butterflies are emerging from their chrysalis’ and beginning the slow flapping of their fresh young wings (so much imagery right there!). It may take a few weeks, and I am sure I may come up against a few obstacles that challenge me mentally, and no doubt physically, but as it is something I have wanted for so long, I have no doubt in my mind that this will be nothing but a phase.

I think the thing that excites me the most is the idea of a business card. A business card symbolises what I would call a ‘career job’. We go through life filling periods of unemployment with ‘job jobs’, but ultimatley, a business card is an indication of a job that means something to you, and you meaning something to them. They are proud to associate their name with yours, which to some, may seem silly. But to me, it means I am on my way…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

