Skip to content

So…where do I start?

September 5, 2008

MAKING A BREAK into advertising is notoriously difficult for a graduate. For a creative, unless you have a mind blowing portfolio, your best option is freelancing or aiming low. If your an Account Planner, you need a strong background in research and business, and a degree in marketing to make the grade.

But what for an Account Manager/Handler? Surely a strong communicator, both oral and written, as well as being highly organised, have great attention to detail and a passion for the industry. Well, as far as I am concerned, I fit into this mould. However, so do another couple of thousand graduates who have recently graduated from University.

Lacking Confidence?! Barely! I demonstrate my ability to communicate in an appearance on Meridean News promoting the Bournemouth Sevens rugby tournament.

Lacking Confidence?! Barely! I demonstrate my ability to communicate in an appearance on Meridean News promoting the Bournemouth Sevens rugby tournament.

As an individual, I believe I possess a great set of entry level skills for an Account Executive position, plus a degree in Interactive Media (2:1) to match, but what makes one candidate stand out from another?

My mission is to uncover exactly that. What can make me stand out from the crowd? What can give me the edge over other grads? What do I need to ensure that I am considered at the later stages?

One thing I have identified thus far is experience. I have worked for a small agency as a Creative Assistant, with several client facing situations involved in this work, but it is not of significance to motivate an employer to approach me. Therefore, in whatever way possible, I need to improve my CV with a range of experience, paid or unpaid, in order to demonstrate that I am capable to potential employers.

I believe that given the chance to impress, I can show an employer that I am confident and capable of handling myself in a client facing position, and dedicate my self sufficiently to have a positive impact upon the company’s fortunes. Now, all I have to do is get that chance…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

